Honours and fellowship

  • Member, Membership Advisory Committee, Academy of the Developing World (TWAS)

  • Member, Board of Governors, NISER, Bhuvaneswar, 2011-2014.

  • President, Indian Academy of sciences, Bangalore (2013-2015).

  • Fellow, The academy of the developing world (TWAS), 2007.

  • Member, Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Science (Education and Research) 2006-2009.

  • Convenor, Kishore Vaigyanik Prostahan Yojana (KVPY), a DST-sponsored program for the promotion of science.

  • Member and national representative for Asian Transcription Conference Council.

  • Served as a member in various committees at national and international level for the promotion of scientific activities.

  • Member, Editorial board for National and International Journals. Guided more than 15 students for PhD and published about 100 papers in international journals.

  • Member, sectional committee, Indian Academy of sciences,2001-2004.

  • Member, Council, Indian National Science Academy, 2002-2004.

  • Honorary Professor and Member, Academic Advisory Committee, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore.

  • Fellow, Indian National Science Academy, 1997.

  • Visiting Professor, Dept. of Mol. Microbiol. and Immunol., School of Public Health & Hygiene., Johns Hopkins University, USA, Sept.-Oct. 1996.

  • Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences, 1994.

  • Visiting Professor, Division of Molecular Genetics, National Institute of Genetics, Mishima, Japan, Nov. 1993 - Apr. 1994.

  • Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, 1989.